The Line Where The Sky Meets The Sea

Yelling across rooms,
“Come fast. Let’s leave.”
Driving hurriedly –
The beach awaits.

Strewn with people
Playing in the water,
The sands burn golden,
Beside the jagged waves.

Shacks and shops sprinkled
Across the borders,
Camels stand bedecked
For tiny riders.

The scent of raw mangoes,
Roughly rubbed with chilli –
Memories of the yearly trips
To the beach, with my grandparents.

Water laughs into my mouth
As I crouch beneath the waves.
My carvings on the sand
Anticipate its arrival.

Sitting on the warm rocks –
The sun dips down below,
And ‘I see the line
where the sky meets the sea,
Oh, it calls me.’

**Last 3 lines are from Disney’s Moana 🙂 Loved it!!!

Leave a Reply

